SVN Founding Members

Front Row (Left To Right): Nancy Jasinkowski, Victora Fahey, Jackie Helt
Back Row (Left To Right): Sheila White-Flores, Patricia Baum, Jeanne Doyle, Patricia McGlone, Mitzi Ekers

Discover the history of SVN in the 25th Anniversary Booklet

The Society for Vascular Nursing was founded in 1982, with the initial meeting in June at the Copley Plaza Hotel in Boston, Massachusetts, to discuss establishing a society that would officially recognize vascular nursing as a specialty. It was originally incorporated as the Society for Peripheral Vascular Nursing (SPVN) in 1982 and renamed the Society for Vascular Nursing (SVN) in 1990.

The founding officers and Board of Trustees served to solidly validate vascular nursing as a unique specialty.


  • Jeanne E. Doyle (and first president of SVN)
  • Patricia Baum
  • Patricia McGlone
  • Mitzi Ekers
  • Victora Fahey
  • Jackie Helt
  • Nancy Jasinkowski
  • Sheila White Flores